How’s it hanging, fright fiends? We’re back with a new Pick of the Week! I missed last week because I didn’t do any horror watching. This week, I’m posting two recommendations to make up for it. Strap yourself in. Let’s pop, lock and drop it.

This week:

shutter the baby

 

Let’s start with Shutter, the absolutely horrifying film from Thailand. Directed by Banjong Pisanthanakun and released in Thailand in September of 2004 (released in the U.S. at the 2005 Tribeca Film Festival), this film scared the pants off of me in broad daylight with the lights on. Unfortunately, it spawned a dreadful American remake (damn you, Joshua Jackson) that put a bad taste in my mouth about seeing the original. I can admit when I’m wrong…and I was VERY wrong to sleep on this film for as long as I did. The jump scares are chilling, the make-up effects are gnarly (dead Natre are what nightmares are made of) and, even with a simple plot, the story holds you in your place. Granted, the remake is a retelling of the same story, Banjong does a better job of grasping the audience. Subtitles may put some people off, but it’s completely worth a viewing if you want some spine-cringing terror.

My Rating: 7/10

Next up is a film that I previously never heard of until Tuesday of last week. Right now, Shudder is in the swing of Movie Mayhem, where the great folks are posting a new film for every weekday of May. Seriously, subscribe to Shudder. Tuesday’s choice was The Baby, a 1973 horror-thriller directed by Ted Post. Post has directed a little bit of everything in the film and television world, including a few episodes of The Twilight Zone and the film Night Slaves that looks rather interesting.

The Baby tells the story of a mother, her two daughters and a grown man who has never developed into a man and still acts and is treated like an infant…named simply Baby. Ann Gentry (Anjanette Comer) plays a social worker who becomes engulfed in the case of Baby and the Wadsworth family. This dirty little secret from the 70s is the type of film that has my name written all over it. It’s disturbing and tough to watch at times (some torture and incestuous situations), yet the film is all you think about for the next few days. And the ending is astonishing. Well acted, well directed, well written. Double thumbs up!

My Rating: 8.5/10

