What’s up, everyone? It’s been a while, but we’re back at it again. Happy Father’s Day to all you dads out there! Personally, I can’t think of a better way to celebrate a day for dads then watching a new film that will creep the pants off of you. Luckily for you, I have just the film to tense up your nerves.

 

This Week:

large_large_gBYEBfbUmNMmS5tIQyjCJVHAKw2

The Invitation (2015)

Karyn Kusama’s fourth full length film (six years after Jennifer’s Body) is my #1 film of the year so far. I’m a big fan of films that have cults as the subject matter, so I’ve been following this one for quite some time now. As soon as I saw it was released on VOD, I didn’t hesitate to purchase it (Blu/DVD released this week!). It’s the type of slow burn that spreads through your body until you can’t take it anymore.

Will (Logan Marshall-Green) and his girlfriend Kira (Emayatzy Corinealdi) are invited to a dinner party thrown by Will’s ex-wife and new husband. After being back in his old homestead and being around the ex Eden (a mesmerizing performance by Tammy Blanchard), Will begins to suspect that there is something dangerous happening and the party is a cover for something evil.

Beautifully shot, astounding performances and amazing writing makes this film a must-see for anyone who enjoys the genre. Let me tell you…when the tension breaks, try not to jump out of your seat.

RATING: 9/10

 

